South Africa #3: Oudtshoorn

Road Trippin’ – The Blue Cow

It’s about 400km from Hermanus to Oudtshoorn. So you have many possibilities to stop and explore some things on the way. I had my rest in Barrydale.
Barrydale is one of these small villages you really expect nothing from and you would never think that you could find something interesting there.
But there’s the Blue Cow. The Blue Cow is a little cafe on a small lake. When you see it from the outside it looks not very spectacular. But once you go in and enter the terrace you could  spend hours there. When I came in an employee immediately gave me some toast to feed the little birds and fishes in the water. I got very beautiful prepared drinks there and the warm apple cake is soooooo good.
It’s a really peaceful place and a real insiders’ tip 😉

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 preset

Finally in Oudtshoorn

When I finally arrived in Oudtshoorn I first went to the Food Lovers Market and was fascinated by the variety and number of fruits. And it made my veggie heart beat a little faster 🙂
The rest of the day I spent by the pool in my accommodation until the sun set.

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

The Swartberg Pass

Oudtshoorn is famous for its ostrich farms. So you can buy anything made out of ostrich feathers and leather there. I don’t like the look of it that much, so all that ostrich stuff wasn’t interesting for me. I decided to do a day trip by car. I drove on the Swartberg Pass, what was a really good idea 😉

Cango Caves

I first visited the Cango Caves what’s just a 20 minute ride away from Oudtshoorn. It’s a giant dripstone cave. And it’s really breathtaking when you stand inside. You can do a guided tour there and the guides are really good 😉

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

The Pass

The Pass itself is a gravel path that leads you over the Swartberg mountain through a lot of  canyons. It reminded me a little bit of Death Valley in California. A really impressive ride.

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 preset

Prince Albert

When you exit the pass you end up in Prince Albert. It’s the perfect place to take a rest. A small village with just one street, one hotel, one church, one movie theatre and beautiful jacaranda trees, that decorate the whole village. I fell in love with this place. It’s so cute and peaceful.

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 preset

After my rest in Prince Albert I went back to Oudtshoorn. But this time I drove around the Swartberg mountain and not over the pass again. In the middle of the road a cute little turtle appeared. So I stopped and waited until it passed the street. Really cute 🙂

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

Meiringspoort Waterfall

On my way I stopped in Meiringspoort where a small waterfall is located. It’s a five minute walk away from the parking area. You have to climb a little but it’s really fun to do it.

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 preset

Cango Wildlife Ranch

The next day I visited the Cango Wildlife Ranch. It’s a small zoo with guided tours. The guides here are very good, like in the Cango Caves the day before.

IMG_4993-1.JPG

At the end of the tour, which takes about an hour, you have the possibility to do a special. You can play around with Lemurs, dive with crocodiles or to pet cute little cheetah babies. My choice were the cheetah babies of course 😉 They were so unbelievable cute. I wanted to adopt them so bad, that i was really sad when I had to leave them 😦

IMG_4992-1.JPGProcessed with VSCO with s2 preset

You can do many cool things in Oudtshoorn even when you’re not interested in ostrich farms, feathers and leather. And the landscape of the Swartberg Pass is just breathtaking. But I had to set my sails to my next stop….. Colchester. And there I had the biggest adventure of my life…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

