South Africa #1: In and around Cape Town

So many beautiful viewpoints!

At the end of 2016 I visited South Africa for the first time. I was doing a road trip and had no idea what to expect. But what I can say upfront: I’m totally in love with this country πŸ™‚

My first stop was Cape Town. I arrived after an 18 hours flight about noon. What I heard about the kindness of the people there proved itself right after I left the airplane. A woman gave the passengers a singing warm welcome: “Welcome to South Africa….”. And also the man at the border control made me feel like I’m with friends here.

What I really recommend you is when you’re in Cape Town and there’s a clear blue sky with less wind you should directly take a trip up Table Mountain by cablecar. That was the first thing I did. And it was a really good decision because the other days it was not possible to go up because of strong winds. The view I got up there made me forget how tired I was after the long flight. It was just breathtaking.

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 preset

Another beautiful viewpoint I could recommend is Signal Hill. You have a very nice view over Cape Town surrounded by the Table Mountain, the Lion’s Head and the Twelve Apostles. And the best is, you can go there by car. So you don’t have to worry about the wind here πŸ˜‰ If you’re brave enough you can also do paragliding up there. I wasn’t and I’m a little bit upset about that afterwards.

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 preset

Tiny colorful houses, cute little beings, the most southern point of Africa and many more views

After I came along with my first impressions and some hours of sleep I decided to do a trip to the Cape of Good Hope. Along the way you have many opportunities where to stop. And here are my choices:

My first stop was Muizenberg Beach. It’s famous for its tiny colorful houses that look so cute that you just have to fall in love with them. I was surprised and impressed by the loneliness of this place. So silent and calming.

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 preset

Next I stopped at Boulders Beach. The special thing about Boulders Beach are its little inhabitants. After a short walk you’ll get to see them…

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

…So many little penguins all around the beach.Β You can watch them waddle around and take your shots πŸ˜‰

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 preset

After my short visit at Boulders Beach, I finally arrived at the Cape of Good Hope. The most southern point of Africa. You have a very beautiful landscape with some hiking trails there. But I think most people just come here to take a photo right in front of a big board to show that they where here. If you don’t want to wait until it’s your turn for the photo, you can just take the smaller board I took πŸ˜€ It’s just a few steps away πŸ˜‰

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 preset

On my way back to Cape Town I could have stopped nearly every ten meters to take photos of breathtaking landscapes. I’ll just give you a small collection here πŸ˜‰

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 preset

Waterfront – the place to be

If you want to go shopping, go out for a meal or just hang out, Cape Towns Waterfront is the place to be for you. You have nearly every shop from H&M to Gucci there and many things to explore. There’s a aquarium you can visit or take a ride on the big wheel. On the streets are choirs and bands playing national songs. So you’ll definitely find something you can do there.

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 preset

What I would really recommend you is to do a catamaran trip. You can do it for about 150 Rand (that’s about 11 euros). The trip takes 90 minutes and you’ll get another breathtaking Β view over Cape Town. And if you’re lucky you can see a cute seal swimming right in front of you.

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 preset

After the trip I was really hungry. But while looking for something to eat I unfortunately made a bad experience with this beautiful country. It’s not very veggie-friendly. Especially when your lactose-intolerant, because even nearly every salad comes with cheese. But in the end I found some veggie-sushi, what should become my main meal in the next weeks. Luckily I could effort that πŸ˜‰

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

Camps Bay – The Miami Beach flair in Cape Town

Camps Bay is definitely the place where you can let your day end. In the afternoon all the bars and restaurants open and it gets quite lively there. You can have a cocktail, dinner or just chill at the beach. I really like the atmosphere there with the Twelve Apostles in the background.

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 preset

The colorful world of Bo-Kaap

I’ve seen the colorful houses of Bo-Kaap on many photos in the internet. So I definitely wanted to see it with my own eyes. It’s smaller than I thought but quite a cute place.

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 preset

After a few beautiful days in Cape Town and its surrounding I had to say goodbye to this beautiful city. But luckily it was just the beginning of my trip πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

